Commonwealth Team wins Anton Muttukumaru Trophy  2021

The annual cricket match for  Major General Anton Muttukumaru Trophy between the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and the High Commissions of Commonwealth countries based in Canberra teams was played at the Forestry Oval, Yarralumla on 20th March 2021.

The Commonwealth team comprising players from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the United Kingdom won the trophy. DFAT won the toss and sent the Commonwealth team to bat . Commonwealth scored 139 runs in 20 overs. The DFAT team was all out for 109. The Commonwealth team was led by Senarath Dissanayake and the DFAT team was captained by Shashi Samprathi.

Jointly organized by the Sri Lanka High Commission, The Royal Commonwealth Society (RCS) and the DFAT this friendly, charity event, first organised 55 years ago, promotes cooperation between DFAT and the High Commissions of cricket playing Commonwealth countries. This year, the proceeds of the charity will  go to ‘Suwa Sewana’,  a vocational training centre for differently abled female adolescents, located at Seruwavila in the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka. Charities are determined on a rotation basis between the three organisers.

Mr. Gary Cowan, First Assistant Secretary, North and South Asia Division of DFAT was the special guest at the trophy presentation ceremony. Ms. Olivia Thornton, President of the ACT Cricket Association, Diplomats, the President of the Royal Commonwealth Society  Mr. Kantilal Jinna and Mr. Anton (Tony)  Muttukumaru Jr, son of the Late Major General Anton Muttukumaru were also present.

Messrs Gary Cowan, Tony Muttukumaru, Kanti Jinna, and the Acting High Commissioner of the Sri Lanka High Commission Mr Senarath Dissanayake addressed the gathering.


High Commission of Sri Lanka


30th March 2021

Register with the High Commission

The Sri Lankan High Commission in Canberra would like to keep in touch with Sri Lankans and persons of Sri Lankan origin living in Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu and other Pacific Islands as well as Sri Lankan community organisations in those countries.

If you are a current/former Sri Lankan or an office bearer of a Sri Lankan community organisation we invite you to register with the High Commission.


Contact Us

61 Hampton Circuit, Yarralumla, Canberra
ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6198 3756
Fax: (02) 6198 3760


Locate Us