President Sirisena to undertake State Visit to Australia

President Maithripala Sirisena will undertake a state visit to Australia on 24-26 May 2017 at the invitation of Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull. The visit takes place as both countries celebrate the 70th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations this year.

During the visit, President Sirisena will hold bilateral meetings with Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrave and Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull on 25 May 2017. The Governor-General will host a State Lunch for the President

Following the meeting with Prime Minister Turnbull, a Joint Declaration on Enhanced Cooperation between Australia and Sri Lanka, is expected to be signed. A Memorandum of Understanding on a Cooperative Programme on the Epidemiology of Chronic Kidney Disease of Unknown Etiology, between the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation and the Sri Lanka Presidential Taskforce for Prevention of Chronic Kidney Disease is also to be signed. A Letter of Intent on Cooperation between Geoscience Australia and the Geological Survey and Mines Bureau of Sri Lanka would also be exchanged during the visit.

President Sirisena will also hold bilateral meetings with Foreign Minister Julie Bishop, Immigration and Border Protection Minister Peter Dutton and Leader of the Opposition Bill Shorten.

A Breakfast meeting with members of the Business community in Sydney will be held on 26 May for the President. President Sirisena will also meet with members of the Sri Lankan community in Canberra and Sydney, and is scheduled to visit the Centre for Genomics, Metabolomics and Bioinformatics at the Australian National University (ANU) and the Mount Majura Solar Farm.

President Sirisena’s delegation will include Minister of Tourism Development & Christian Religious Affairs John Amaratunga, Deputy Foreign Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva, Deputy Minister of Power and Renewable Energy Ajith P. Perera and Member of Parliament Harshana Rajakaruna.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

23 May 2017

Register with the High Commission

The Sri Lankan High Commission in Canberra would like to keep in touch with Sri Lankans and persons of Sri Lankan origin living in Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu and other Pacific Islands as well as Sri Lankan community organisations in those countries.

If you are a current/former Sri Lankan or an office bearer of a Sri Lankan community organisation we invite you to register with the High Commission.


Contact Us

61 Hampton Circuit, Yarralumla, Canberra
ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6198 3756
Fax: (02) 6198 3760


Locate Us