Sri Lanka and Australia signs a Memorandum of Understanding on Scientificand Technical Co-operation

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Scientific and Technical Cooperation was signed between Sri Lanka and Australia on 05th November 2019 in Canberra.

Mr. W.M.A.S. Iddawela, Chairman, Geological Survey and Mines Bureau of Sri Lanka(GSMB) and Dr. James Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, Geoscience Australia(GA) signed  the  MoU  at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Australia.

The High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to Australia, Mr. J.C Weliamuna, Mr. Udaya De Silva, Senior Director (GSMB) attended the event representing the Government of Sri Lanka. Dr. Andrew Heap, Chief of Resources Division (GA), Mr. Ian Biggs, Assistant Secretary and Ms. Lalita Kapur,Director from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade represented Australia.

Cooperation under this MoU includes: Geoscientific investigations; Research work on on-shore and off-shore mineral occurrences; Geothermal energy potential; Geospatial analysis; Professional training and capacity building; Adoption of latest technology and sharing the technology for value addition of minerals; Exchanging scientific and technical information, study visits and scientists; Collaboration on individual research activities; Participation in training courses and jointly organizing geoscience related conferences; Exchanging professional geoscientists in areas of mutual interest; and Gaining geoscientific knowledge of the currently active geoscientific projects of both parties. This MoU will be in effect for a period of five years with a further extension period of three years.

The signing ceremony of the MoU was followed by a discussion focusing on areas of mutual interest for future cooperation. Making the opening remarks Mr. Ian Biggs, Assistant Secretary said the signing of the MoU is one of the important achievements following the visits of H.E. the President and Hon. Prime Minister of Sri Lanka in 2017 and it would help   to strengthen the cooperation between GSMB and GA and explore opportunities and tangible activities with concrete outcome. While addressing the gathering, High Commissioner Weliamuna,   stated that signing of the MoU concerned would   open new areas of trade and investment opportunities for both countries. Dr. James Johnson, Chief Executive Officer (GA), said that    Geoscience Australia is looking forward to strengthening its relations with GSMB in pursuing scientific and technical cooperation in Earth Sciences. Mr. W.M.A.S. Iddawela, Chairman (GSMB), thanked all the Sri Lankan and Australian agencies for their contribution towards signing this MoU and he invited an Australian delegation from GA to visit Sri Lanka to continue further engagement between the two countries.


Sri Lanka High Commission in Canberra                                                                     

05 November 2019


Register with the High Commission

The Sri Lankan High Commission in Canberra would like to keep in touch with Sri Lankans and persons of Sri Lankan origin living in Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu and other Pacific Islands as well as Sri Lankan community organisations in those countries.

If you are a current/former Sri Lankan or an office bearer of a Sri Lankan community organisation we invite you to register with the High Commission.


Contact Us

61 Hampton Circuit, Yarralumla, Canberra
ACT 2600

Tel: (02) 6198 3756
Fax: (02) 6198 3760


Locate Us